Announcements‎ > ‎

FLA Student Scholarship Winners for 2010

posted Mar 10, 2010, 10:35 AM by SIS Admin   [ updated Mar 29, 2010, 6:10 PM ]

SIS has awarded 3 student scholarships to attend the Florida Library Associaion Annual Conference in April. This year's winners are Jessica Davis, Anne Larrivee and Liz Gray. Bill Harris obtained alternate support to attend the conference, and has graciously declined the SIS grant.Therefore SIS was able to extend the grant to another applicant. Contratulations to Jessica, Bill, Anne and Liz.

It was a difficult decision to make since there were so many deserving candidates.  All of the applicants showed a strong commitment towards the library profession.

Each scholarship will be for $150 so that students can cover conference-related expenses.

Special thanks to other members of the Scholarship Committee -- Caroline Reed, Jessica Riggins and Janine Awai.

This is the 3rd year that SIS has provided the financial support for this very important project.  With these scholarships we are supporting
the professional activities and learning opportunities for students who will soon be working as professional librarians.

After the conference awardees will write about their experiences at the FLA conference in an upcoming SIS newsletter.  We look forward to their reports.

Again, congratulations to Jessica, Bill, Anne and Liz.  If you are attending FLA please look for these students, say hello and welcome them to our wonderful profession.

Caroline Reed, Scholarship Committee Chair
Interim Director of Public Services
Jane Bancroft Cook Library*
5800 Bay Shore Road
Sarasota, FL 34243-2109
(941) 487-4568
(941) 487-4307 (fax)
*(a shared service of New College of Florida & University of South Florida Sarasota-Manatee)